Everything always comes to an end

Jeg fikk plutselig et behov for å skrive på engelsk. Håper dere ikke hater meg for det, og at dere kanskje likevel leser det jeg har på hjertet? 

This is my fourth year away from home, and I’ve sort of gotten used to not living under my parents roof. I’ll probably never be able to take care of myself when it comes to the economic part, but that is a completely different story.

Because besides the economics, I feel like I’m capable at almost anything a person needs to be able to do when they are living on their own. Not that I’ve actually lived completely on my own yet, but at least I haven’t had the opportunity to shout out “mom, come and help me with this” or “Dad, come and fix this” every single time I have a problem.

After two years of studying to be a chef, I am completely able to make my own food. And after a year in folk high school( I have no idea what the proper word for folkehøgskole is), I’ve learned everything I need to know about cleaning. This is because my dorm was filled with boys who didn’t know how to clean up after themselves.

The only thing I would say I might have a problem with, is the “handy” part. I have no idea how to build or repair things. I’ve recently started sewing. I actually fixed a perfectly good cardigan the other day, and it almost looks as good as new now.

But my capability to live on my own isn’t the thing I wanted to write about in the first place…

The thing is, my year in England is coming to an end. Usually when something big like this is near the end, I’m sort of sad. So why is it that I’m not sad now?

I feel like I haven’t experienced everything I came here for. When I came here, I hoped for adventures. Maybe I even hoped for a little fairytale. A year of happiness. Instead I feel like it’s been a long struggle. Like I haven’t even seen the start of the adventure, and that the fairytale burned up before it was written.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ve had my share of good experiences here as well. I’ve met some awesome people, I’ve seen some great places and I’ve learned a whole lot about myself. I mean hello, I repaired a cardigan without any help at all. If someone had told me that I would be able to do that a year ago, I would probably have laughed at them.

I guess what I’m saying is; I just want to have my adventure and maybe even my fairytale. 

4 comments

  1. linnjones · april 6, 2012

    Uansett hva som skjer, så er det ett år du aldri vil glemme og som du kommer til å se tilbake på som ett år der du lærte mye :)

    • Linn · april 6, 2012

      Det har du nok helt rett i :)

  2. Marie ☀ (@marieb92) · april 6, 2012

    Du skriver VELDIG bra! Jeg er imponert! :) Jeg vet akkurat hva du mener, og har opplevd det samme noen ganger selv, selv om det ikke har vært i forbindelse med et år hjemmefra eller noe sånt, men når du ser for deg at en opplevelse skal bli så fantastisk og bra og du gleder deg skikkelig til det, og så når det går mot slutten, så ser du tilbake på opplevelsen og bare: hva skjedde med alt det fantastiske og alt jeg hadde trodd og håpet skulle skje?

    For meg er det nesten sånn at tiden går så fort at jeg ikke rekker å stoppe opp et øyeblikk og bare nyte tilværelsen og nyte at: dette er faktisk livet mitt, jeg må leve det nå! Jeg kan ikke gå og vente på at gode ting skal skje, for in the end, så er det bare JEG som kan få de gode tingene til å skje!

    Ja, følte for å være litt poetisk av meg, haha :) Så spennende at du tenkte på å bli kokk! Det er jo så gøy! :) Hva tenker du på å gjøre etter dette året?

    • Linn · april 6, 2012

      Først: Tusen takk! Jeg legger en hel del i det når jeg skriver, så da er det jo bra det ser/høres bra ut for andre enn bare meg selv :)

      Det er kanskje akkurat det jeg sliter med. Tiden bare flyr forbi, og jeg rekker vel egentlig aldri å stoppe opp og bare nyte opplevelsene og livet. Tror nok ikke at du og jeg er unike i denne situasjonen. Vil tro det er noe mange sliter med. Tror ikke verden på en generell basis tar seg tid til å leve livet skikkelig =)

      Alltid koselig med litt poetiske ord ;)
      Jeg tenkte på å bli kokk, baker OG konditor. Jeg klarte aldri bestemme meg, og så endte jeg opp med å droppe alle tre :p
      Har søkt på diverse årsstudium rundtomkring i Norge. Har liksom ikke helt bestemt meg for hva jeg egentlig vil med livet mitt ennå :p

Legg igjen en kommentar

